The West Bengal Commission for Women was established as an autonomous statutory body after the West Bengal Commission for Women Act was passed in the State Assembly on June 22, 1992. The Commission started functioning from February 3, 1993.

The current Commission, formed in the year 2017, with the eminent Screenwriter, Author, Filmmaker and Professor Leena Gangopadhyay at its helm, looks forward to carrying the tasks forward in protecting women’s interests, while spreading awareness and creating a holistic approach to build stronger and more responsible structure where women are self-sufficient and can be harassed by men no more.

Over the past one and a half years, the present commission has made a lot of ground, in helping the women of the state out. The Commission has successfully spread awareness while avenging the women in need, has looked into the living conditions of women in the correctional homes, and other homes for girls, while going on trips all over the state to help out women in distress.

Chairpersons over the Years

  1. Bela Dutta Gupta : 01.02.1993-20.09.2001
  2. Jashodhara Bagchi : 21.10.2001-20.04.2008
  3. Malini Bhattacharya : 20.04.2008-20.05.2011
  4. Sunanda Mukherjee : 17.06.2011-16.06-2017
  5. Leena Gangopadhyay : 18.07.2017-Present

Jalasampad Bhawan,Ground Floor and 10th Floor,Block – DF, Sector – 1,Salt Lake City,Kolkata – 700091